Established in 2014, HARDCOPY is a national professional development program that helps build the capacities, aptitudes and resources emerging Australian writers need to reach their potential.

The HARDCOPY program has now been rested. The 2019 cohort of writers will complete the program this November.

The HARDCOPY program offered significant professional development; creating an environment that was educative, vigorous and nurturing. HARDCOPY helped writers develop their manuscripts;

  • increased industry knowledge;
  • facilitated relationships between writers and publishing professionals; and
  • broke down the barriers of location and geography.

Watch this video to hear from past participants.

HARDCOPY did not specifically aim to have its participants achieve publication as a direct and immediate result of the program. Rather, HARDCOPY focused on:

  • manuscript development;
  • education about how the Australian publishing industry works; and
  • building connections and relationships within the industry/writing community.

HARDCOPY was underpinned by the principle of pragmatic optimism: being aware of the challenges, but also being positive about the future.

Agents and publishers in the HARDCOPY program included:
Affirm Press, Allen & Unwin, Black Inc., Blemish Books, Echo Publishing, Editia, Finlay Lloyd, Hachette, HarperCollins, Penguin Random House, Scribe, Text, Transit Lounge, UQP, UWAP, and Xoum.

Agents who have participated in HARDCOPY include Jenny Darling, Jacinta Di Mase, Gaby Naher, Benython Oldfield, and Jane Novak, as well as Grace Hefeitz, Benjamin Stevenson and Pippa Masson from Curtis Brown.

HARDCOPY was a special initiative of the ACT Writers Centre and funded by the Australia Council for the Arts.