The aim of the ACT Publishing Awards is to recognise, reward and promote writing by ACT region authors that has been published by small publishers or self-published. The Awards are administered by the ACT Writers Centre, in recognition of the excellent writing published locally.

There were four categories, each with two judges. Entries were judged on the excellence of the writing. The winners in each category are as follows:

Fiction Award Winner
Triumviratus by Shane Smith
Fiction Highly Commended
A Perfect Marriage by Alison Booth
The Years of the Wolf by Craig Cormick
After She Left by Penelope Hanley

Nonfiction Award Winner
Backseat Drivers by Craig Cormick
Nonfiction Highly Commended
Joe Baker by Angelika Erpic
Fire at Sea: HMAS Westralia 1998
by Kathryn Spurling

Poetry Award Winner
Things I’ve Thought to Tell You Since I Saw You Last by Penelope Layland
Poetry Highly Commended
Inlandia by KA Nelson

Children’s Book Award (joint winners)
Billie by Nicole Godwin and
Demelsa Haughton
When Worlds Collide by Amy Laurens 

Thank you to all the entrants to the 2019 ACT Writing & Publishing Awards