Anne Edgeworth Fellowship 2015

Applications are now open for the 2015 Anne Edgeworth Fellowship for Young Writers.  The Anne Edgeworth Writers’ Fellowship is provided to an emerging young writer in the Canberra Region.  The Fellowship is worth up to $5,000 and is to be used to advance the recipients’ education in the craft of writing.  The Fellowship is provided annually by the Anne Edgeworth Trust and is administered by the ACT Writers Centre.

Anne Edgeworth (also known as Anne Godfrey-Smith) was a prominent poet, writer, theatre director, academic, conservationist and activist for reconciliation.  She died in June 2011.  Anne mentored many young writers as a tutor, author and poet and her family has established an annual award for young writers in her memory.  More information about Anne can be found at Obituaries Online.


To be eligible to be considered for the Fellowship you must:

  1. live in the ACT or one of the nearby NSW Local Government Areas (Young, Harden, Gundagai, Tumut, Boorowa, Yass Valley, Upper Lachlan, Goulburn, Mulwaree, Wingecarribee, Palerang, Greater Queanbeyan, Shoalhaven, Eurobodalla, Bega Valley, Bombala, Cooma Monaro, and Snowy River);
  2. be under the age of 35 at 30 November 2015; and
  3. be a citizen or permanent resident of Australia.

Forms of Writing

The Fellowship will be made for work in the field of poetry, fiction writing, non-fiction writing, screenwriting and/or playwriting.

Purpose, duration and community outreach

The Fellowship can be used for any purpose that furthers the recipients’ education in their chosen field of literature and must be associated with a tertiary institution or other educational institution concerned with creative writing such as the ACT Writers Centre.  For example: tuition fees, travel, accommodation, printing and publishing, editing, writers’ retreat etc (‘the project’).  The funds cannot be used to purchase capital equipment (eg computers) or subsidise an existing commercial or non-profit activity.

The project must be completed within a twelve month period.

During the course of the project the recipient is to provide some insight into the project to the general writing community either through a lecture, seminar, workshop, written report, article, video or similar (‘community outreach’) or combination of the above.

Application process

The application process consists of two stages.  The first stage requires the applicant to submit an expression of interest (EOI) on the attached form due to the ACT Writers Centre by Friday 30 October 2015.  A panel established by the ACT Writers Centre will assess the EOI. The panel will draw up a short-list of potential recipients.  A short-listed recipient will be invited to make a short presentation about their application at a face-to-face discussion in Canberra with the judging panel. In 2015 this presentation will take place early/mid-November.

The Anne Edgeworth Fellowship 2015 Expression of Interest form (.doc)


Zoya Patel & Lisa Fuller

Zoya Patel and Lisa Fuller both plan to write about their very different cultural and ethnic experiences. They frame their projects differently: Zoya will write a novel-length memoir, a genre linked more closely to personal experience than fiction, and one which poses special cultural challenges.  Lisa will write a novel concerning the fictional disappearance of a girl from a Queensland country town; a story which will enable her to explore the secrets, hidden histories and spiritual beliefs of a rural indigenous community.  There are significant sensitivities in using Aboriginal culture in fiction and an important contribution of the Fellowship will be to help Lisa to negotiate with community elders and others about some of these issues. 

Share this page
Share |
Related Links

Annual Awards